博客 > Aging > 痤疮治疗不起效的9种原因

痤疮治疗不起效的9种原因

Understanding Why Your Acne Treatment Is Not Working

纵所周知,痤疮是一种极为常见的皮肤问题,尤其会困绕青少年人群。据了解,新加坡88%的青少年均出现过痤疮的问题,而这其中至少一半会遭遇中重度的痤疮。尽管说痤疮在青少年人群中更为普遍,但其实它也同样会影响20岁以上的人群。

如今随着医疗技术的进步,治疗痤疮的方式可谓多种多样,但是治疗的效果却并非总是十分理想。因而,对于患者而言,分析其中的原因并选择最恰当的治疗方式便显得十分必要。

目前市面上有多种非处方类的药物均可用于各种人群的痤疮治疗。然而,同一种治疗方法却并不一定适用于每一个人。许多时候,患者可能会发现他们的痤疮在治疗后没有显著的改善,甚至还会出现某种程度的恶化。其实,这种情况的发生往往并非患者的原因,更多的是治疗方式不恰当所致。

以下便是造成痤疮治疗效果不理想的9种重要原因。

#1 急于求成

在进行皮肤治疗时,人们总是希望能够“立竿见影”。但其实,痤疮治疗往往需要至少4-6周才能见到显著的疗效。而在这期间,痤疮出现反复是再正常不过的事情。因而,在进行皮肤治疗尤其是痤疮治疗时,耐心至关重要。

根据痤疮类型的不同,一些痤疮的治疗甚至需要等待3个月的时间才能显现出疗效。许多患者往往无法忍受这么长的等待时间,有些患者甚至会错误的认为治疗没有效果,但这都是非常错误的认识。

对于痤疮的治疗而言,耐心与正确的治疗方法可谓同等重要。所以,坚持医生所制定的治疗方案,也许不久之后便会看到理想的治疗效果。

虽然说痤疮会对皮肤的健康造成影响,但其实痤疮的形成也往往是由于诸多不良的因素所致,诸如饮食不健康、压力过大、皮肤缺水、睡眠不足及皮肤护理不到位等等。

因此,在进行皮肤治疗的同时,患者一定要保持健康的生活方式及习惯以防止痤疮的反复出现。例如,多吃健康的食物、少吃油炸食品、多喝水以及每天保持7到9小时的睡眠。当然,运动也可以提升患者的整体健康状况。只有这样,患者皮肤才会不断变好,同时痤疮也才会慢慢消退。

#3 仅治疗已形成的痤疮

在进行痤疮治疗时,很多患者都只会治疗已经形成的痤疮。就像常言道“如果没坏,便无需修理”。

然而,对于痤疮的治疗却并非如此。在痤疮已经形成时才予以治疗则往往只能达到缓解炎症及减小痤疮的效果。例如,涂抹外用的药膏则只能从表面上治疗特定区域的痤疮,但却无法预防痤疮的复发。

通常,一个真正有效的治疗方法会从根源上来解决问题。不仅可以去除已经形成的痤疮,它还可以抑制皮脂腺的过分活跃,破坏造成痤疮形成的毛囊及细菌。当然,目前市面上有各种各样的痤疮治疗方法可供选择,比如外用药、口服药、化学换肤、激光以及各种能量类的医美设备。如果想要了解最适合自己的治疗方式,患者还是需要向专业的医生进行咨询。

#4 皮肤清洁不彻底

大多数的痤疮治疗方法及药物均是通过毛孔来渗透到所有皮肤层中。对于这些治疗方法而言,皮肤的清洁工作是否到位便显得至关重要。

通常,推荐患者在进行痤疮治疗时使用温和去角质的泡沫或凝胶来清洁皮肤,从而将各种污染物质及杂质清洁干净。

当然,卸妆也是必不可少的一步。患者最好使用专业的卸妆水,而不是使用卸妆棉随便的擦拭。单纯地使用卸妆棉无法彻底地清洁皮肤,而残留的化妆品则会进一步阻塞毛孔并会妨碍最终的治疗效果。

#5 

毛孔堵塞

毛孔通常会被角质、各种刺激物以及化妆品等物质堵塞。因而,患者最好每周使用两次以上的去角质产品来清洁皮肤。反之,皮肤便可能会看上去毫无光彩,毛孔粗大的同时肤质也会变得粗糙,进而不利于进行任何痤疮的治疗。温和去角质的洗护产品对于防止毛孔堵塞来说至关重要。但是,还有一点同样需要注意,如果过度地去除角质,尤其是对于痘肌而言也并非好事,其反而会进一步刺激皮肤并使痤疮加重。


#6 皮肤护理过度

无论是油性、干性还是混合性的皮肤,选择恰当的洗护产品均十分重要。如果使用的产品不合适,痤疮则反而有可能恶化。

痤疮通常是由于皮脂腺分泌过量的油脂、堵塞毛孔并导致细菌滋生所致。许多人在痤疮刚刚出现时会陷入恐慌并胡乱使用各种类型的产品。然而,过多的治疗却恰恰会对皮肤的健康造成负面影响。

使用过多的洗护产品还可能会导致皮肤受到进一步的刺激,并使得痤疮进一步爆发。其实,在专业医生的指导下尽可能做到极简护肤是最好的选择。此外,患者在选择洗护产品时要重视质量而非数量,就像常言道“少即是多”。

具体应该针对自己的肤质选择何种洗护产品,患者还是需要向专业的美容医师进行咨询。此外,患者也应该在购买相应的产品时着重了解一下产品所包含的成分。看看其是否包含以下两种成分:

  • ·杨酸

    许多非处方类的洗护产品中均会包含水杨酸这种成分。它可以影响皮肤细胞生成的方式并有效防止毛孔堵塞。水杨酸类的产品强度通常会保持在0.5%至5%之间。当然,某些患者可能会遭遇像轻微的刺痛或皮肤刺激等副作用。因而,患者一定要严格按照包装上的说明来进行使用,以防止皮肤状况变差。

  • 过氧化苯甲酰

    这种类型的产品通常是凝胶或乳液的形式。该成分可以有效疏通毛孔、让痤疮干瘪并杀灭细菌。当然,它还可以预防新的痤疮形成。同时使用水杨酸以及过氧化苯甲酰可谓痤疮治疗的基本性选择。

#7 保湿不到位

皮肤在出现痤疮时通常会变得敏感而且极容易出现炎症、干燥甚至受到刺激。因此,一定要温和地对待痘肌以免使得痤疮进一步恶化。许多人认为涂抹保湿霜会不利于痤疮的恢复,但其实情况恰恰相反。

纵所周知,皮肤相当于人体抵挡外部有害物质的一道屏障,而当这道屏障受损时,皮肤本身便会出现感染以及各种皮炎的问题。保湿恰恰可以使得皮肤在变得水润的同时免受各种问题的侵扰。反之,如果皮肤的保湿不到位,尤其是对于干性皮肤而言,痤疮等皮肤问题便极有可能会恶化并且各种痤疮的治疗也会大打折扣。

#8 治疗方法不合适

由于现在随处可见各种大大小小的美容沙龙以及皮肤诊所,而且每一家都宣称自己可以治愈所有类型的痤疮问题,因而对于患者而言想要一下子找到理想的治疗机构往往并非易事。很多患者甚至会在低廉的价格诱惑下选择前往沙龙而非皮肤诊所就诊。

事实上,与专业皮肤诊所中拥有经过数年培训的职业美容医师相比,沙龙往往并不规范。大多数沙龙均没有配备有效的治疗设备及产品。另一方面,医疗诊所通常都会为患者指定综合性的治疗方案,进而来从根本上解决痤疮问题。专业的医生也会通过正规的医疗产品、药物以及经药监局认证的医疗设备来进行治疗。

所以说,患者应该从病情的角度出发,选择专业的医疗诊所进行最有效的治疗。切勿被虚假的广告以及低廉的价格所迷惑。

#9 抠挤痤疮

抠挤痤疮是许多患者养成的一种最不好的习惯。这种习惯会导致细菌进一步滋生并扩展到其它区域,从而使得痤疮进一步恶化。

此外,除了有将皮肤暴露给外部病原体的风险外,这种行为还会大大增加留下痘疤的风险。

如果皮肤上出现了白头粉刺、黑头粉刺或者炎症性的痤疮,患者最好还是咨询专业的医生进行处理而非自己动手。只有这样才不会让痤疮进一步恶化并且甚至有助于降减少痘疤或痘印的出现。

治疗效果不理想时该怎么做?

如果说患者在接受了正确的治疗之后效果还是不甚理想,那么这便极有可能是治疗方案不合适或者治疗方法本身对痤疮的疗效不佳所致。

其实如果患者咨询经验丰富的专业医生,这种问题往往并不常见。当然,如果说您的皮肤在4至6周的治疗后确实没有得到改善,那么您便应该咨询您的医生来调整治疗方案。

化学换肤有助于从深层清洁皮肤并疏通堵塞的毛孔,从而可有效对各个皮肤层做出改善。不同的换肤成分适用于不同的皮肤类型。

尽管沙龙与医美诊所均可以提供各种各样的化学换肤治疗,但由于技术的缺乏沙龙往往无法进行中等深度的换肤治疗。此外,医美诊所严格的规格及标准还会为患者提供足够的安全保证。

另一种痤疮治疗技术便是激光与微针。这两种方法均可以减缓痤疮出现的速度以及严重程度。此外,它们还有助于缓解痘疤并同时治疗皱纹、痘印、以及皮肤暗沉或皮肤出油等问题。

Blog > Acne > 9 Reasons Why Your Acne Treatment is Not Working

9 Reasons Why Your Acne Treatment is Not Working

Understanding Why Your Acne Treatment Is Not Working

By understanding why our acne treatment is not working, we will be able to change that and solve our acne issues. Acne is a common skin problem, seen mostly during puberty and adolescence. In fact, 88% of Singaporean teenagers suffer from acne, with at least half of them suffering from moderate to severe acne. While the prevalence of acne is more common amongst the teen population, it can also affect adults aged 20 and above.

There are several over-the-counter treatments that target acne for all age groups. However, acne treatment do not work the same for every individual. Some may find their acne worsening after treatment, while some may see no significant improvement in their skin. But, this is less to do with an inherent resistance to acne treatment, and more to do with inappropriate treatment. 

If your acne treatment is not producing results, it can be due to several reasons. Below is a list of the top 9 causes of failed acne treatment.

#1 Expecting instant results

More often than not, when someone starts a skincare routine, they expect instant results. Acne treatments need at least 4 to 6 weeks for noticeable improvement. During this period, it is common to experience an increase in acne as the treatment clears your skin from the inside. Patience is key when it comes to skincare, especially in acne treatments. 

Depending on the type of acne treatment, it is normal to wait up to 3 months before experiencing clear skin after starting a specific acne treatment. Waiting this long may seem unbearable for many people. Some may mistake this as an indicator of ineffective treatment, but this is far from the truth. 

With acne treatment, both patience and the right treatment are equally important. So, stick to the regimen prescribed by your aesthetic doctor, and you may soon have the clear skin you desire.

Acne affects the skin, but it develops as a result of multiple factors such as an unhealthy diet, increased stress, dehydration, lack of proper sleep and rest, and poor skincare hygiene.

In combination with skin treatments, it is important to make healthy lifestyle choices to prevent further breakouts. Eat healthy foods while avoiding greasy food, drinking enough water, and sleeping 7 to 9 hours daily. Exercise can also help improve your overall skin health. These steps allow the skin to flourish and the acne to clear out and improve your overall health.

#3 Targeting only active acne

Acne treatment that only targets active lesions is much more common than you might think. In other words, it makes sense only to deal with a problem when it arises; otherwise, as they say, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". 

However, this advice does not work with acne. Applying spot treatment when a zit forms or a pimple has fully appeared on the skin only reduces inflammation and the acne's size. For instance, topical treatments will target and treat that specific acne but won't help prevent further breakouts, which is what needs to be done. 

An effective acne treatment targets the root of the problem. Not only does it clear active lesions, but it also reduces overactive sebaceous glands, destroys hair follicles and bacteria that cause acne. There are many different types of acne treatments, ranging from topical, oral, chemical peels, lasers to energy-based devices. To learn about the different types of treatment that are right for you, schedule a consultation with your doctor.


#4 Unclean skin

Most acne treatments and medications work by penetrating the pores to work on all layers of skin effectively. For these treatments to target the different layers of the skin, it is important to have a clean skin base before applying anything to the face. 

A gentle or exfoliating foam or gel cleanser is recommended as the first step of a good and healthy skincare routine. It cleans the face off any impurities such as environmental pollutants and the remaining contaminants with the right facial cleanser or toner. Then, the skin is ready for acne treatment. 

It is also essential to remove makeup before using a cleanser, preferably with a makeup remover and not just a makeup removing wipe. Makeup removal wipes do not clean the skin thoroughly. Leftover makeup on the skin clogs the pores further and prevents treatment from penetrating the skin properly, hindering the results. 

#5 Clogged pores

Pores can get clogged by dead skin cells, irritants, and makeup. Suppose you are not using an exfoliator at least twice a week. In that case, it will allow dead skin to build up and potentially lead to dullness, clogged pores, and rough texture, which prevents any acne treatment from penetrating into the skin. Gentle exfoliation is vital to avoid clogged pores. However, it is also important to note that excessive exfoliation, especially acne-prone skin, can further irritate the skin and worsen the acne. 


#6 Overusing skincare products

Depending on how well your skin adapts to the treatment, skincare products can either make or break your skin. It is important to use products that are suitable for your skin type, whether you have oily, dry, or combination skin. Using products that are not suitable for your skin type can irritate it.

Acne is caused by excessive production of oil from your oil glands, clogging your pores and causing bacterial growth. Many people, when they start to break out panic, and apply several different products. However, excessive treatment can adversely affect the skin's health and appearance. 

Using too many skincare ingredients may also lead to skin irritation and more breakouts. Using as few products as possible under the guidance of an experienced doctor is the best thing that you can do for your skin. Furthermore, choosing quality ingredients over quantity can give a better result, as the saying goes, "Less is More".

Consult your aesthetic physician if you have questions about the best skin care regimen for your skin type. Alternatively, you can also check out the ingredients at the back of the packaging when you shop. Look out for ingredients containing:

  • Salicylic acid

Salicylic acid is available in many over-the-counter skincare products. It works by affecting the way skin cells grow and can also help prevent clogged pores. This product is available in strengths from 0.5 to 5 percent. Individuals may experience possible side effects such as mild stinging or skin irritation. It is important to follow the instructions on the packaging carefully to prevent worsening your skin.

  • Benzoyl peroxide

This treatment comes in the form of gels or lotion. This ingredient helps to unclog pores, dry out active acne, and kill bacteria. It can also prevent new acne from forming. Using benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid together is a foundation for acne treatment.

#7 Not moisturising enough

The skin becomes sensitive and prone to inflammation, dryness, and even irritation when suffering from acne. It is important to treat acne-prone skin gently to avoid further exaggeration of acne. Many people believe that applying moisturisers can worsen acne, but this is far from the truth. 

As skin functions as a barrier to harmful external agents, any disruptions in the skin barrier can make your skin more prone to infections and breakouts. Moisturising your skin ensures that your skin is hydrated and intact. Not moisturizing your skin, especially for those with dry skin, can worsen acne and decrease the efficiency with which acne treatments work.

#8 The treatment may just not be working for you

With so many beauty salons and skin clinics out there, with each claiming to have the cure to all of your acne problems, it can be confusing to choose the right place to treat your acne. Many choose to visit a salon instead of a clinic because of markedly lower prices.

Unlike aesthetic physicians in a skin clinic who have years of medical training, salons are usually not regulated. Most salons are not equipped with the proper products or tools to provide effective treatments. On the other hand, medical clinics always recommend a stepwise acne treatment with a goal of complete remission. Certified doctors approach acne with combination therapy using medical-grade products, medications and FDA-approved medical devices.   

For complete long-term remission and control of acne, it is best to not be misled by false advertising and discount prices. Make sure you do your research, choose the right clinic, and the best treatment.

#9 Picking at your acne

Picking at your acne is one of the worst habits that many with acne have. This habit can introduce more bacteria into the lesion, spread the bacteria from the lesion to other areas, and further worsen your acne.

In addition to the risk of exposing your skin to foreign pathogens, physical skin irritation can increase your risk of developing disfiguring acne scars. 

If your skin is covered with blackheads, whiteheads, or inflamed acne, it is best to get it extracted by a medical therapist rather than picking on it yourself. This will prevent your acne from getting worse and may even help minimise acne scarring or post acne marks that would otherwise result from picking the acne yourself. 

Things to try when your acne treatment is not working

When your acne treatment does not work, despite you following all the recommendations and not doing any of the things mentioned above, it is most probably because the acne treatment is not suitable for you or the treatment in itself is not effective for acne in general.

This issue is not commonly faced when you visit a certified and experienced skincare doctor. In any case, if you believe your skin is not improving even after 4 to 6 weeks of acne treatment, you should consult with your doctor about changing your acne treatment.

Chemical peels and facials can help treat acne by deep-cleaning the skin and unclogging the pores so that treatments can improve all layers of the skin. Different ingredients of these facials and peels are suitable for different skin types. 

Both salons and aesthetic clinics offer a wide selection of chemical peels. However, salons cannot perform medium depth chemical peels that physicians can due to the intensity of the peel. This is a good safety measure as the regulations and standards are much stricter for physician clinics than salons. 

Another method of treating acne includes laser therapy and radiofrequency microneedling. Both of which have been found to reduce the frequency of breakouts and severity of acne breakouts. Moreover, these options can also be effective in minimizing the appearance of acne scars and can also improve other aesthetic issues such as wrinkles, acne marks, and dull or oily skin.